by Piqsid
I went searching for an answer to my Cluster Missiles question and found this thread. I didn't have a question on the Marksmanship upgrade before, but I agree with what I think is the consensus (not unanimous) that any attack in the round in which you took the Marksmanship Action should be affected.My question is about the Focus Action. Since you don't need to declare you are using the Focus token until after you see the results of your roll, you may not use the token during the first round of the Cluster Missile attack (if you don't roll any Focus dice) but then you do use it during the second attack. So it seems to me that if you spend a token in the first round of the attack, you wouldn't necessarily get that bonus in the second round.
However, it is possible that there are two round of attacks only because there are only three attack dice in the game. Without the focus ability, there is no difference in rolling three dice twice or six dice once. It's not like you can change targets if you blow up your target after the first wave. However, if you rolled 6 dice at once, the focus would definitely apply to both rounds of attacks.
The rules state that you can spend the focus token to "Change all (Focus) on the attack dice to (hits)". Does it matter if the dice results occur over two rounds?